your job

IMG_9307

Rejoice in the Lord always. I will say it again: Rejoice! Let your gentleness be evident to all. The Lord is near. Do not be anxious about anything, but in everything, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God. And the peace of God, which transcends all understanding, will guard your hearts and minds in Christ Jesus.
Philippians 4:4-7

“A tree’s job is not to try to bear fruit; the tree’s job is to abide near the river. And the fruit does not ripen overnight…Anytime you see life flourishing, it is receiving nourishment from beyond itself.” – John Ortberg from “The Me I Want to Be”

It takes some of the pressure off to know that I’m not responsible for having it all figured out. My mind will race a million miles a minute trying to figure out what I could be doing better, how to make my life look different. It’s good to be reminded that my job is to stay as close to him as I possibly can. If I just focus on that, it’ll always be enough.

One thought on “your job

  1. Read this today and absolutely needed to see/read/contemplate this. Much needed affirmation as well. Love your blog and God-inspired photos and posts, Sarah Jo!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

